top of page
Search

Home (Alone) For The Holidays

Well, here we are again at that time of year when these final days fly by,

filled to the brim with shopping, the stringing of sparkly bobbles and one

holiday get together after another –



What? Oh, right, I forgot.


Anyway, everything is different because, well, it’s the year of 2020.


And for maybe the first time ever ‘Home For The Holidays’ literally means, at home – alone.


That just was not my plan for Thanksgiving. Until yesterday, that is, when my bestie called to let me know she had potentially been exposed to the dreaded C word (ya know, Covid) and that our fun Friday movie night at home last week meant I had potentially been exposed too. Sheesh! If she had called me ten minutes earlier, I wouldn’t have already checked out with my cart full of groceries for the big day!


That’s right. Everyone was supposed to converge upon my home this beautiful morning full of joy and gratitude for all of life’s many blessings. I was looking forward to the overwhelming noise level, the overcrowded, overheated kitchen crammed with overly boisterous loved ones and overflowing with an excess of food consumed only on this really special once a year day. (When I wrote the third book in the Maeve Tidewell psychic suspense series, Pay Penance, it was right around this time, and so I wrote in a great scene that portrays what my Thanksgivings are usually like.)


Where I would normally be trying to find a place to sneak off to for a quiet moment alone, this year it looks like I’ll be turning the volume up on the TV while watching sappy holiday movies and feeling left out by the rulers of chaos. And full disclosure, also eating all the food I bought. I mean somebody's got to do it, right?


You see, I have actually achieved the holy grail of dreams this year, which is to be a full-time author, and I am so grateful to everyone who helped me achieve that dream. It does mean I’m home almost 100% of the time though, surrounded by peace and serenity and organization and creativity.


My heart is abundant with gratitude and joy for sure, but I think I may be feeling a little bored and lonely.


And I know I’m not alone in that. So, I thought I would reach out with a reminder that none of us are ever truly alone. And would you look at that? Louis Armstrong’s What a Wonderful World just started playing – hahaha!


And to also realize that boredom is just a momentary sensation easily resolved with a cup of coffee (or a glass of wine) and a good book.


What would be even better would be to hear from you! Drop me a note and let me know what you did on your day of giving thanks, or what you’ve been reading, or even to tell me what you are most looking forward to in 2021. That would be so awesome.


Anyway, until next time… Have a really special Thanksgiving day and the best holiday season ever.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page