top of page
Search

Happy Holiday Movie Month!

I've Been Holiday RomCom Bingeing. What Have You Been Up To?


Well here we are, already past Thanksgiving and well into the Christmas hustle and bustle, and what have I been doing? Since holiday parties and crowded shopping venues aren't exactly in vogue these days, I've been writing (mostly) and bingeing on holiday romcoms.


Especially Midnight at the Magnolia. Have you seen it? The thing I loved most about this movie wasn't the main characters, Jack & Maggie, although their lifelong friendship does add a sense of fun to their story. What made the movie for me were the peripheral characters who supported the relationship.


I loved the parents in particular. The three of them have this deep, enduring friendship that transcends their business partnership, and they all have wanted Jack and Maggie to someday realize they were in love. Aaaaw!


They do a great job of guilt tripping their kids without even trying - Ha!


Anyway, when I think about my writing, I know that often times it is the supporting characters that drive the story for me. So I was wondering if you ever find yourself loving supporting characters more than the main characters in the movies you watch or the books you read.


For instance, I just recently read Angels Fall again by none other than the inimitable Nora Roberts, and was entertained all over again by forward and outspoken Linda-Gail and her lothario bo, Lo. And I'm admittedly a little obsessed with the relationship that develops between Dennis and Jessica in Pay the Piper and Pay Penance.


Are there any special characters or relationships for you that make you want to revisit the book or the movie again and again?


There's a reason why there are so many of these movies. Because people love them! And I was wondering if you're one of those people. I'd really love to hear from you, so just hit reply and drop me a note with your favorites. Or even the ones you really hate - LOL.


Here's my list in order (sort of) of most liked to least:

The Holiday - Is and always will be my number one! The Proposal - Duh Christmas Chronicles 1 & 2 (I know, not romcoms, but I’ll watch them over and over again!) Operation Christmas Drop - Such a great movie, just loved it Christmas With A View – The view really is beautiful Holly Star - A moving message for sure The Spirit of Christmas - So sad yet so inspiring Holiday Calendar - Really cool holiday magic Christmas Catch - A holiday Miss Congeniality A New York Christmas Wedding – An interesting relationship twist Jingle Jangle - More magic, and so much good music Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square - Meh, but I liked it Christmas in the Smokies (Kinda Hokey) and ... Knight Before Christmas - I have to watch this one because I can’t remember what it was about exactly, hahaha!


I can’t wait to hear your thoughts and feelings on the whole holiday special viewing experience. Just reply to this email and let me know what you’ve been doing - watching - reading.


I appreciate you!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page